top of page

Seasons of the year

British Flag

A season is a part of a year. Most areas of the Earth have four seasons in a year. Each season has three months and its own characteristics. Let see them below.

Four seasons in a year:

spring /sprɪŋ/

summer /ˈsʌm.ɚ/

autumn /ˈɑː.t̬əm/,      fall /fɑːl/ (used in U.S)

winter /ˈwɪn.t̬ɚ/

fall in American English
autumn in Brtish English


During springtime, the daylight hours become longer and the nights get shorter. The sun shines a little stronger, birds start to sing and flowers begin to bloom. It might be rainy and windy sometimes.

spring in English


Summertime is the hottest part of the year. The sun shines brightly in a clear sky. During this time of the year, the trees are full of leaves and fruit ripen. It is the best time to go to the beach since the weather is warm and the days are long and sunny. Swimming helps us to get cooler during the hottest days!



When fall comes, the trees drop leaves and the piles of the leaves rest on the ground. The weather gets colder every day and the days become shorter, and it's often windy. It's a good time to find some chestnuts in the park. Also, autumn is known in some countries as the harvest season because it's then that most crops are ready to be harvested.

autumn, fall


Winter is the coldest season of the year. The trees are without leaves and the days are very short. In winter the temperatures drop to 0 or fewer degrees and then in some places snows. Everything is covered with white powder. It's a good time to go sledding or skiing. Also, you can build a snowman in front of your house. Remember then to wear warm clothes like gloves, a winter cap, a thick winter jacket, winter shoes, and so more.

Seasons of the Year
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page